Franco Maloberti

Franco Maloberti graduated in Physics with Honors in 1968; after a year at the University of L'Aquila, he moved to the University of Pavia in 1969, where he is now Professor Emeritus. He received two Honorary Doctorates, the first from the Instituto Nacional de Astrofisica Optica y Electronica, Puebla, Mexico, in 1996, and the second in Science from the University of Macau in 2023. He was the first Professor awarded the chair dedicated to Jack Kilby (Nobel Prize 2000 for the invention of integrated circuits) at Texas A&M University, College Station, and Microelectronics Chair Professor at the University of Dallas. He has been a visiting professor at the Zurich Polytechnic (ETH) and the Lausanne Polytechnic (EPFL). At the University of Pavia, Prof. Maloberti has supervised more than 260 master's theses and twenty-eight PhDs in circuits, systems, and analog microelectronics. Furthermore, he has co-supervised four PhDs from EPFL Lausanne, a PhD from ITU Istanbul, and a PhD from the University of Macao. As a professor at Texas A&M University, he supervised 11 doctoral and five master's students. As a professor at UTD Dallas, he supervised eight PhD and seven master's students.
His scientific interests span from switched capacitors to data converters, interfaces for sensors, and portable power management. He has written over 620 publications, ten books, and holds 41 patents. Of the 620 publications, 139 describe microelectronic circuits fabricated and measured with innovative features. In 1992, he received the XII Pedriali Prize for his technical-scientific contribution to national industrial production. He received the IEEE CAS Society Meritorious Service Award in 1999, the CAS Society Jubilee Gold Medal in 2000, and the IEEE Millenium Medal. He received the 1996 IEE Fleming Premium, the 2007 ESSIRC Best Paper Award, and the 2007 and 2010 IEEJ Workshop Best Paper Awards. He received the 2013 IEEE CAS Society Mac Van Valkenburg Prize. He was president of the IEEE Sensor Council and the IEEE CAS Society. He was the Division I director if IEEE (2022-2023). He is an IEEE Life Fellow.